On this date: Seahawks move to NFC West

NFC West

A look at a memorable moment in Seahawks history that occurred on May 22:

2001: The Seahawks move from the AFC West to the NFC West as the NFL realigns into eight four-team divisions. Instead of annual home-and-home games against the Broncos, Chiefs, Raiders and Chargers, the Seahawks are now matched twice a season against the 49ers, Cardinals and Rams. The Seahawks had been a member of the NFC West in their inaugural season in 1976, but moved to the AFC West in 1977. The Seahawks won the AFC West title in 1988 and 1999, and captured the NFC West championship from 2004-07 and also in 2010.

No Comments »

%d bloggers like this: