Russell Wilson 2012 Largent Award winner

Russell Wilson, Largent Award

Add one more accomplishment to Russell Wilson’s gone-where-no-rookie-in-franchise-history-has-gone season for the Seahawks: Winner of the Steve Largent Award.

Wilson was presented with the trophy today after being voted the honor by his teammates, making him the first rookie to win the award that has been presented annually since 1989 to the player or coach who “best exemplifies the spirit, dedication and integrity of the Seahawks.”

The rookie quarterback meets all those criteria.

Since being selected in the third round of April’s NFL Draft, Wilson has won over his teammates because of his poise, work ethic and attention to the most-minute detail – which he has parlayed into unprecedented production on the field for a rookie QB.

Previous winners:

1989  Steve Largent

1990  Jacob Green

1991  Rufus Porter

1992  Jeff Bryant and Joe Nash

1993  Eugene Robinson

1994  Brian Blades

1995  Terry Wooden

1996  Cortez Kennedy

1997  Winston Moss

1998  Michael Sinclair

1999  Chad Brown

2000  Ricky Watters

2001-02  Mack Strong

2003  Trent Diler

2004-06  Mack Strong

2007  Bobby Engram

2008  Mike Holmgren

2009  Matt Hasselbeck

2010  Roy Lewis

2011  Red Bryant

Comments Off on Russell Wilson 2012 Largent Award winner

%d bloggers like this: