Tez finalist for Hall of Fame

For the fourth consecutive year, Cortez Kennedy is a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. And for the fourth consecutive year, the Seahawks former Pro Bowl defensive tackle faces some tough competition in making it to the class that will be inducted this year.

Kennedy, the 1992 NFL Defensive Player of the Year, was among the 17 finalists announced this morning for the Class of 2012. He made it to the round of 10 the past two years, but was not among those selected for the Classes of 2010 and 2011.

During his 11-season career with the Seahawks, Kennedy was voted to eight Pro Bowls. The most-decorated defensive player in franchise history also was inducted in the team’s Ring of Honor in 2006. Kennedy finished with 668 tackles and 58 sacks, which rank eighth and fourth in franchise history. His best season came in 1992, when he had 14 sacks among his 93 tackles.

Also to be considered when the selection committee meets Feb. 4 in Indianapolis:

Jerome Bettis, RB — 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers
Tim Brown, WR/KR — 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Jack Butler, CB — (1951-59 Pittsburgh Steelers)
Cris Carter, WR — 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins
Dermontti Dawson, C — 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers
Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner — 1979-2000 San Francisco 49ers
Chris Doleman, DE/LB — 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers
Kevin Greene, LB/DE — 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Charles Haley, DE/LB — 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
Curtis Martin, RB — 1995-97 New England Patriots, 1998-2005 New York Jets
Bill Parcells, Coach — 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-96 New England Patriots, 1997-99 New York Jets, 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys
Andre Reed, WR — 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
Willie Roaf, T — 1993-2001 New Orleans Saints, 2002-05 Kansas City Chiefs
Will Shields, G — 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs
Dick Stanfel, G — (1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington Redskins)
Aeneas Williams, CB/S — 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

Butler and Stanfel are the finalists nominated by the senior committee, while Parcells and Shield are in their first year of eligibility.

Comments Off on Tez finalist for Hall of Fame

%d bloggers like this: