Unwanted no more

Gregg Easterbrook at ESPN.com is over-looking the Pro Bowl selections that will be announced later today by unveiling his All-Unwanted All-Pro team.

And the All-Unwanted Player of the Year is …

Seahawks rookie wide receiver Doug Baldwin. Really, you can read all about it here.

This is what Easterbrook had to say about the Seahawks’ leading receiver, who was signed after being passed over by every team in the league during the NFL Draft:

“Two rookie wide receivers named Baldwin entered the NFL this season. Jonathan Baldwin, a No. 1 draft selection, has been nearly invisible with his team, the Kansas City Chiefs. Doug Baldwin, undrafted, became the leading receiver for the Seattle Seahawks and also is a special-teams ace, with a punt block that caused a Seattle touchdown on ‘Monday Night Football.’ Baldwin graduated from Stanford University. In high school, he was a member of the National Honor Society and of the math and Spanish national honor societies. His success shows that athletics is not antithetical to education — and that it doesn’t matter what round you are drafted in, or if you are drafted at all.”

Interestingly, the player of the year on this “Tuesday Morning Quarterback” team landed only second-team honors – along with teammates Robert Gallery, on the offensive line; and linebacker David Hawthorne.

The first-team berths at wide receiver went to the Patriots’ Wes Welker and Giants’ Victor Cruz.

Comments Off on Unwanted no more

%d bloggers like this: