Kennedy semifinalist for Hall of Fame

Former Seahawks defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy is a modern-era semifinalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2012.

The 26-man list was released today, and Kennedy is on it for the fourth-consecutive year. The field will be reduced to 15 finalists and announced in early January. The selection committee will then determine the 2012 Class on Feb. 4, the day before Super Bowl, in Indianapolis.

Kennedy, the Seahawks’ first-round draft pick in 1990, is the most-decorated defensive player in franchise history. In addition to be named NFL defensive player of the year in 1992 – on a 2-14 team – Kennedy also was voted to the Pro Bowl eight times and All-Pro three times. He was inducted into the team’s Ring of Honor in 2006 and voted to the 35th Anniversary team last year.

The man his teammates referred to simply as “Tez” had 668 tackles, 58 sacks and 13 forced fumbles in his 11-season career.

This year’s semifinalist group also includes two first-year eligible candidates – Bill Parcells, who coached the Giants, Patriots, Jets and Cowboys; and guard Will Shields who, like Kennedy, played his entire career with one team, the Chiefs.

Here are the other semifinalists:

Steve Atwater, S – 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets

Jerome Bettis, RB – 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers

Tim Brown, WR/KR – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Cris Carter, WR – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Roger Craig, RB – 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings

Terrell Davis, RB – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Dermontti Dawson, C – 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers

Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner – 1979-2000 San Francisco 49ers

Chris Doleman, DE/LB – 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers

Kevin Greene, LB/DE – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Charles Haley, DE/LB – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Curtis Martin, RB – 1995-97 New England Patriots, 1998-2005 New York Jets

Clay Matthews, LB – 1978-1993 Cleveland Browns, 1994-96 Atlanta Falcons

Karl Mecklenburg, LB – 1983-1994 Denver Broncos

Andre Reed, WR – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Willie Roaf, T – 1993-2001 New Orleans Saints, 2002-05 Kansas City Chiefs

Donnie Shell, S – 1974-1987 Pittsburgh Steelers

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League

Steve Tasker, ST/WR – 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills

Aeneas Williams, CB/S – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

Ron Wolf, Contributor – 1963-1974, 1978-1990 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, 1975-77 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1990 New York Jets, 1991-2001 Green Bay Packers

George Young, Contributor – 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League

Comments Off on Kennedy semifinalist for Hall of Fame

%d bloggers like this: