The MVP of the MVPs

The Steve Largent legacy just keeps on growing, despite the fact that it was 21 seasons ago that he caught his final pass for the Seahawks.

Even when you’re not really looking for something to further justify his Hall of Fame career, there it is: Just another nugget that does exactly that.

The latest is Largent being the MVP of the MVPs in franchise history. The award was voted on by the players from 1976, the team’s inaugural season; through 1998. The first winner was quarterback Jim Zorn. The last was linebacker Chad Brown.

In between, however, it was difficult to wrest the award from the sure-handed wide receiver who retired after the 1989 season as the NFL’s all-time leader in receptions (819), receiving yards (13,089) and touchdown catches (100).

In an 11-season span from 1977-87, Largent was voted the team MVP five times (1977, 1979, 1981, 1985 and 1987). There are seven other multiple winners, but each won the award twice – including running back Chris Warren, the only player to win it in back-to-back seasons (1994-95).

Like most of Largent’s team records, the gap between him and the player or players sitting at No. 2 equates to the distance between Seattle and the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

“The thing I’ll remember about Steve Largent is that I had the experience of coaching one of the all-time great professional football players,” Chuck Knox, who was Largent’s coach from 1983-89, said the week of Largent’s final game. “He has made more plays, does more things over and over again, than most people.”

The MVP award was sponsored by the Marcus Nalley company, and here’s the list of players who proved to be chips off the ol’ Largent:

Player, wins (years)

WR Steve Largent: 5 (1977, 1979, 1981, 1985, 1987)

QB Jim Zorn: 2 (1976, 1978)

SS Kenny Easley: 2 (1982, 1984)

RB Curt Warner: 2 (1983, 1986)

FB John L. Williams: 2 (1988, 1990)

FS Eugene Robinson: 2 (1991, 1993)

DT Cortez Kennedy: 2 (1992, 1996)

RB Chris Warren: 2 (1994, 1995)

WR Sam McCullum: 1 (1980)

WR Brian Blades: 1 (1989)

FS Darryl Williams: 1 (1997)

LB Chad Brown: 1 (1998)

Comments Off on The MVP of the MVPs

%d bloggers like this: