A one-of-a-kind Triple Crown

Triple Crown winners in horse racing are rare. It has happened only 11 times since 1919, and the last winner of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont was Affirmed in 1978.

But Eugene Robinson pulled an even rarer “triple crown” in 1993, when the Seahawks’ free safety was voted team MVP, Man of the Year and the Steve Largent Award.

Robinson led the team in tackles (111) and interceptions (nine) in ’93, when he also was voted defensive captain before the season and to the Pro Bowl and All-Pro after the season.

No other player in the team’s 35-year history has turned that award-winning triple play.

The window of opportunity was slim, however, as the Largent Award was not presented until 1989 – when Largent was the first recipient in his final season with the team; and the MVP award was discontinued after the 1998 season – with linebacker Chad Brown the last to win it.

During that 10-year span, four players won two of the awards: defensive end Jacob Green, Man of the Year and Largent Award in 1990; Robinson, MVP and Man of the Year in 1991; wide receiver Brian Blades, Man of the Year and Largent Award in 1994; and defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy, MVP and Largent Award in 1996.

Pre-Largent Award, no player won MVP and Man of the Year in the same season (Man of the Year was not awarded from 1977-79).

But post-MVP, three players have won Man of the Year and the Largent Award in the same season: fullback Mack Strong (2004), wide receiver Bobby Engram (2007) and special teams captain Roy Lewis (2010).

Comments Off on A one-of-a-kind Triple Crown

%d bloggers like this: