Burleson’s stay short, but sweet

Joe Nash played a franchise-record 15 seasons for the Seahawks, one more than Steve Largent and Mack Strong.

Walter Jones (13), Jacob Green (12), Brian Blades (11), Cortez Kennedy (11), Michael Sinclair (11), Dave Brown (11), Eugene Robinson (11) and Matt Hasselbeck (10) also spent 10-plus seasons with the team.

So their selections to the Seahawks’ 35th Anniversary team are not surprising.

Nate Burleson, however, is on the other end of the tenure spectrum. He was with the Seahawks for only four seasons – one more than John Carlson, and the same number as Fredd Young and Steve Broussard.

But when the readers of Seahawks.com voted, Burleson was the pick as the punt returner.  

“It’s funny that people voted on that and picked me,” Burleson said. “So I’m honored. I really am.”

Burleson’s record-setting returns after returning to play for his hometown NFL team from 2006-09 are featured in the third profile of the 29 members of the reader-selected team.

Comments Off on Burleson’s stay short, but sweet

%d bloggers like this: