Tez: Wait until next year

Cortez Kennedy will have to wait at least another year to enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

For the second consecutive year, the Seahawks’ former eight-time Pro Bowl defensive tackle made it to the Final 10. For the second consecutive year, Kennedy was eliminated in the voting to reach the Final 5 during the 7½-hour selection committee meeting in Dallas today.

Elected for the Class of 2011 were defensive end Richard Dent, running back Marshall Faulk, Ed Sabol of NFL Films, defensive back Deion Sanders and tight end Shannon Sharpe. Faulk and Sanders were in their first year of eligibility and widely considered the leading candidates for this year’s class.

Also elected were the two senior committee nominees: linebackers Chris Hanburger and Les Richter.

The selection committee began with a field of 15 modern-era finalists and trimmed that to 10: Saunders, Faulk, Sabol, Dent, Sharpe, Kennedy, wide receiver Andre Reed, center Dermontti Dawson, tackle Willie Roaf and wide receiver Tim Brown. Eliminated during that vote were wide receiver Cris Carter, defensive ends Charles Haley and Chris Doleman and running backs Jerome Bettis and Curtis Martin.

The field of 10 was reduced to five, and each of them then needed to get 80 percent “yes” votes from the 44-member committee to make the Class of 2011.


Comments Off on Tez: Wait until next year

%d bloggers like this: