Practice squad eligibility

The Seahawks can begin compiling their eight-man practice squad today, following a very eventual Saturday when they released leading receiver T.J. Houshmandzadeh, announced the resignation/retirement of line coach Alex Gibbs and took the first steps toward acquiring offensive lineman Stacy Andrews in a trade with the Philadelphia Eagles.

Of course, the club also can claim other players released yesterday to add to their 53-man roster, as well as dip into the pool of available and eligible players to stock their practice squad.

The rules stipulate that to be eligible for a practice squad spot, a player: Cannot have an accrued NFL season; must have appeared in fewer than nine regular-season games; and has not served more than two previous seasons on a practice squad.

Here’s a list of those players released by the Seahawks on Saturday who meet those requirements:

  • S Jamar Adams
  • CB Marcus Brown
  • C Jeff Byers
  • OL Mitch Erickson
  • DL Amon Gordon
  • CB Cord Parks
  • LB Joe Pawelek
  • OL Jacob Phillips
  • DL James Wyche

Comments Off on Practice squad eligibility

%d bloggers like this: