Who should raise the 12 flag?

Click here to submit your nomination

The raisers of the 12 flag prior to kickoff at Seahawks games have run the gambit from obvious (Steve Largent and Cortez Kennedy), to iconic (the Pike Place Market fish mongers and J.P. Patches), to Olympians (Apolo Ohno and Hope Solo).

But who do you think should raise the flag during the coming season? Inquiring minds want to know. OK, so it’s the 710 EPSN Seattle duo of Mike Salk and Brock Huard.

The station’s midday hosts are asking fans for their input, and you can voice your opinion – or type it, as the case may be – here.

Past flag raisers are not eligible, per club rules, so here’s the list of those who already have done it:


12 Original Season Ticket Holders

Cortez Kennedy

Curt Warner

Steve Largent

Mike McCormack

Frosty Westering (former PLU coach)


Steve Raible and Warren Moon

Bret McClure, Tara and Dana Kirk (Olympians)

Dave Krieg

Don James (former UW coach)

Eugene Robinson

Chuck Nelson and Jack Thompson (former UW kicker/former WSU QB)

John Nordstrom

Edgar Martinez (former Mariner)

Rangers from Ft. Lewis (in honor of Pat Tillman)

Mothers of Seahawks Players

Ring of Honor Members


David Eger (inaugural Boeing Classic champion)

Sam McCullum

Joe Nash

Chuck Knox

Ed Viesturs (mountain climber)

Efren Herrera

Manu Tuiasosopo

Lorenzo Romar

Kenny Easley

Jack Patera

Ken Hamlin

Paul Allen


Hugh McElhenny (former UW running back, Pro Football Hall of Famer)

Norm Johnson

Cortez Kennedy

Pike Place Market Fish Mongers

Dave Niehaus (Mariners broadcaster)

Warren Moon

Lenny Wilkens (former Sonics coach)

Kasey Kahne (NASCAR driver)

Bill “The Beerman” Scott

Josh Lucas (actor)

Marcus Trufant


Dan Doornink

Jeff Bryant

Mama Blue

Apolo Ohno

Mack Strong

Ichiro Suzuki (Mariners outfielder)

Drew Carey (Sounders FC minority owner, actor)

Matt Cameron (Pearl Jam) and Jerry Cantrell (Alice in Chains)

Sig Hansen (Deadliest Catch)

Robbie Tobeck

Jamie Moyer (former Mariners pitcher)


Dave Wyman

J.P. Patches (Children’s TV personality)

Chris Gray

Kenny Mayne (ESPN personality)

Gary Payton (former Sonic All-Star)

John L. Williams

Ricky Watters

Hope Solo

Sam Adkins

Kathy Holmgren


Central Washington softball players

Jon Fine (United Way CEO)

Jacob Green

Jim Whittaker (mountaineer)

Edwin Bailey

Rusty Tillman

Huston Riley (war veteran)

Fred Brown, John Johnson and Gus Johnson (former Supersonics)

Kasey Keller (Sounders FC goalkeeper)

Ken Griffey Jr. (former Mariner)

Comments Off on Who should raise the 12 flag?

%d bloggers like this: