Tez Hall of Fame semifinalist

For the second-consecutive year, Cortez Kennedy is semifinalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The former Seahawks defensive tackle also was a semifinalist last year, when he made it to the final 15. But “Tez” did not advance in the balloting at the Super Bowl for the Class of ’09.

Kennedy was an eight-time Pro Bowl selection and also was named to the NFL team of the decade for the 1990s. He was inducted into the Seahawks Ring of Honor in 2006.

Two other semifinalists also played for the Seahawks at the end of their careers – defensive lineman John Randle and wide receiver Jerry Rice. Randle played three seasons for the Seahawks (2001-03) and Rice one (2004) after starting their careers with the Minnesota Vikings and San Francisco 49ers, respectively.

The other semifinalists, which were announced Saturday:

Cliff Branch, WR – 1972-1985 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Tim Brown, WR/KR – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Cris Carter, WR – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Roger Craig, RB – 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings

Terrell Davis, RB – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos

Dermontti Dawson, C – 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers

Richard Dent, DE – 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles

Chris Doleman, DE/LB – 1985-1993, 1999 Minnesota Vikings, 1994-95 Atlanta Falcons, 1996-98 San Francisco 49ers

Kevin Greene, LB/DE – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers

Russ Grimm, G – 1981-1991 Washington Redskins

Ray Guy, P – 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Charles Haley, DE/LB – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Lester Hayes, CB – 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders

Rickey Jackson, LB – 1981-1993 New Orleans Saints, 1994-95 San Francisco 49ers

Art Modell, Owner – 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2003 Baltimore Ravens

Andre Reed, WR – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Shannon Sharpe, TE – 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens

Emmitt Smith, RB – 1990-2002 Dallas Cowboys, 2003-04 Arizona Cardinals

Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League

Steve Tasker, Special Teams/WR – 1985-86 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills

Aeneas Williams, CB/S – 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams

The list of semifinalists will be reduced by mail ballot to 15 modern-era candidates. The voting for the Class of 2010 will take place the Saturday before the Super Bowl.

Comments Off on Tez Hall of Fame semifinalist

%d bloggers like this: